Film Screening of ”Into the Soil”

Updated: May 3

A 30 min documentary on regenerative agriculture and food fermenting, from the film platform Campfire Stories. Followed by a Q and A session.


When: Sunday May 2nd @ 8 pm Central European Time (7 pm GMT, 2 pm EST, 11 am PST. Check here to calculate your local time.)

Where: Here is the link for the event on Zoom.


Come meet the director and join us for the online screening of the latest film from Campfire Stories: ”Into the Soil”. The film’s main character is Brigid LeFevre, a biodynamic farmer from Ireland who runs a Community Supported Agriculture operation in Järna, Sweden. It’s a poetic film that circles around the notion that agriculture need not be a war on life, such as is often the case in the industrialized food production.


The film is directed and produced by Mattias Olsson, who is also the founder of Campfire Stories – a film and podcast platform that aims to inspire change towards a world in ecological balance.



The Story

Brigid LeFevre runs the community supported agriculture operation ”Förädlad” (roughly ”Enhanced”) in Järna, Sweden. It’s a biodynamic vegetable garden that focuses on fermenting the harvest in order to enrich it with nutritious lactic acid bacteria and to make it keep for a really long time.


Brigid grew up in a Camphill community in Northern Ireland where volunteers lived and worked together with people with special needs. It was a very self-sufficient community with its own weavery and biodynamic farm. The local store brought in bulk organic produce and each household would weigh and write down their purchases – without any actual exchange of money.


Growing up in a place where food was separated from the economic market has had a big impact on Brigid’s philosophy as a farmer. And really, come to think about it, why is it that the global ups and downs of the economy should determine the local operating practices of small scale farms?


In Brigid’s garden it doesn’t. She grows and ferments vegetables for the members, who subscribe to her jars of delicious sauerkraut, kimchi and all sorts of lacto fermented pickles all year round. The members support this regenerative agriculture operation with money or hands-on help in the garden.


It’s a local, circular economy, which underpins an alive garden, buzzing and chirping, where the goal isn’t to turn a profit, but rather to make the soil more alive with the passing of each season.

Links


More info and clips from the film here: https://campfire-stories.org/into-the-soil/

156 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All